Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Key Dates

Milestones in the Digital Dig Team calendar

12 - 20 March 2018

Excavation at Jane Pit

DigVentures will be running an excavation with local volunteers to explore the workings of the pit and the nearby miners cottages. We'd love for you to join our team!

1875

Tragic accident closes Jane Pit

The sea breaks into the mine killing 100 miners, forcing Jane Pit to close.

1846

A new seam of coal is identified

Located under the sea, Jane Pit becomes responsible for mining the rich source of coal, contributing substantially to the town's economy.

1844

Jane Pit engine house is built

The iconic engine house is built in the ornate castellated style of colliery architecture that was popular with the land owner in the 19th century

1843

Jane Pit is opened

Jane Pit is sunk and is open for business!

1802

Working mining 65,000 tons of coal in a year

At the peak of coal mining in Workington, miners were extracting the equivalent weight of 430 blue whales of coal in a year!

late 18th and 19th centuries

Workington begins to mine coal on an industrial scale

The coal mining industry expands rapidly in Workington, bringing many changes to the town. Housing was forced to expand quickly and port industries were established such as ship building so that the town could trade it's coal.

1568

Mary Queen of Scots stays in Workington

Following her defeat at the Battle of Langside, Mary Queen of Scots escaped and crossed the Solway Firth. She stayed in Workington as an honoured guest of Workington Hall

Anglo-Saxon period

Workington is known as Weorcinga tun

Derived from three Anglo-Saxon words, Weorc (likely a man's name), ingas (meaning sons or people of), and tūn (meaning estate or settlement)

79-122AD

Roman occupation and Workington

Workington's roots lie firmly in the Roman occupation of the area. Roman's built forts along the Cumbrian coast as defences against raiding parties of tribes of Scoti and Caledonii from modern day Ireland and Scotland

CLOSE